Musical Whodunit "Curtains" Coming to Absegami Aug. 10-12

It's a musical whodunit performed by students in the Greater Egg Harbor Regional School District.

It's Curtains for

Students in the Greater Egg Harbor Regional School District, which includes Absegami, Oakcrest and Cedar Creek high schools, will participate in the musical mystery at the Absegami Performing Arts Center Aug. 10-12, the New Millenium Production Company announced. Showtime is 7 p.m. each night.

New Millenium is the summer theater program for theater majors at the three high schools. It has been around since 1999, and past productions have included: Godspell, Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Pippin, Bye Bye Birdie, Footloose, Crazy For You, How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Grease, Little Shop of Horrors, Guys & Dolls, Hairspray and A Chorus Line.

Curtains is set in 1959, and concerns the death of the leading lady in a broadway musical comedy on opening night. The detective in charge of the investigation then becomes wrapped up in a love affair, which leads him to try to help make the show a hit as he attempts to solve the mystery.

Curtains is an original musical comedy with the book by “The Pina Colada Song” artist Rupert Homes (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), music by John Kander and lyrics by Fred Ebb (the Tony Award winning songwriters of Cabaret and Chicago) and the original book and concept by Peter Stone, famous for 1776, Will Rogers Follies and Titanic.

Cast members include Kirsten Wimberg, Schuyler DeVos, Krystina Matos, Malia Monk, Gabrielle Hughes, Erica Butterhof, Aaron Sartorio, Michael Giovinco, Colleen Garrison, Nicholas Hathaway, Randy Frazier, Ashley Fox, Carmelo Polisano, Michael Black, Craig Diliplane, Alexis Rodriguez, Juliana Costantini, Megan Cantz, Jess Schrading, Isabelle Brown, Salina Kuo, Christina Fischer, Angela Capella, Sophia Turrano, Lauren Coyle, Saverio Turrano, Brittany Connelly, Rachel Ann Parsons, Julia Ferris, Trina Van, Margaret Erickson, Gabriella Bancheri, Nathan Moore, Jessica Irvin, Michael Moore, Nick Murphy, Brennan Perkins, Samantha Finnegan, Jenny Husta, Abby Cohen, Rachel Cohen, Maggie Cohen, C. J. Coyle, Molly Huber, Caitlyn Kraemer, Natalie Frantz, Sarah Mount, Thomas Smith and Stephanie Rodriguez..  The production is under the direction of district drama teachers Chip Garrison, Kim Tunney and Matt Ballistreri.  The music is under the direction of Galloway Township Middle School drama and music teacher Brian Conover.   The assistant directors for the production are Mark Perkins, Josh Westcoat and Tim Simon.

General admission tickets are $12 for adults and $10 for students and seniors.  Absegami High School is located at 201 Wrangleboro Road in Galloway Township.  For more information, call (609) 404-2061 or visit the web at www.absegami.net


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »